BulletBoys: Formation

The BulletBoys began as a collection of talented musicians from other bands. Coming from the ranks of King Kobra and Ratt, the BulletBoys were able to quickly capture the attention of music fans around the world. Frontman Marq Torien emerged as one of the most underrated vocalists of the era. Guitarist Mick Sweda, Lonnie Vincent and drummer Jimmy D’Anda formed the core of the BulletBoys.

The BulletBoys formed in 1988 at the very peak of the Los Angeles Glam Metal movement. With record companies constantly on the lookout for new talent, the BulletBoys had a pedigree that most bands would kill for. Unlike the other Glam Rockers of the day, the BulletBoys were more of a combination of Hard Rock and Blues than pure Hair Metal. BulletBoys’ comparison to the likes of Aerosmith and especially Van Halen brought talent scouts running. It took little time for the BulletBoys to receive their first major label contract.

BulletBoys: Self-Titled Debut Album

The self-titled debut BulletBoys was destined to be an instant success. Hard Rock guru Ted Templeman was there to produce BulletBoys. Ted Templeman had previously engineered the works of Van Halen, Van Morrison, David Lee Roth, and other classic bands. Seen as a hit maker, Templeman and the BulletBoys were a natural fit. The BulletBoys were also on a label that specialized in their brand of Hard Rock.

The BulletBoys album dropped in 1988. Single “Hard as a Rock” became a fan favorite and was a hard-driving track. The thumping rock was continued with “Kissin’ Kitty” and “F#9”. Escaping the trends of most bands of the era, the BulletBoys did not include a power ballad on their album. Instead, BulletBoys kept the Rock and Blues coming with hit single “Smooth Up in Ya”. Cover of the old Blues song “For the Love of Money” was another hit. The BulletBoys established themselves as the leaders of Party Rock.

Lead singer Marq Torien quickly drew comparisons to David Lee Roth. Not only did they share similar vocal styles, but Marq Torien also brought the crazy energy and showmanship of Diamond Dave to live audiences every night. With the success of BulletBoys, the band secured a coveted touring spot opening for Bon Jovi. Other tours paired the BulletBoys with Ozzy Osbourne and eventually led to huge headlining tours. The hits and tour led to BulletBoys going platinum.

BulletBoys: Freakshow

The long touring schedule kept the BulletBoys from the recording studio for years. 1991’s Freakshow. Keeping the driving Hard Rock alive and with Marq Torien’s banshee screams in full force, the BulletBoys were officially back. “Talk to Your Daughter” became a radio and fan favorite. “Thrill That Kills” and “Hang on St. Christopher” were also big-time favorites and could be heard bursting from car stereos all over the country.

After another busy tour schedule, the BulletBoys entered the studio to record Za-Za in 1993. Za-Za was packed with a wide variety of music that touched everything from power ballads to party themes. “Slow and Easy” became a popular song off of the album.

BulletBoys: Future & Rock The Bayou

The BulletBoys continued to tour and release the albums Acid Monkey and eventually Sofie, surviving throughout the grunge era and outlasting the nu-metal craze. Greatest Hits: Burning Cats and Amputees reunited the BulletBoys’ original superstar lineup temporarily in 2000, to the delight of fans nationwide. Torien continued to keep the group alive, as the 2007 release Behind the Orange Curtain was well received by critics and fans.

BulletBoys: 10c Billionaire

In 2009, Bulletboys released 10c Billionaire on Chavis Records, the sixth successful album from the rock warriors. In its first week of sales, the new record burst onto the Billboard Charts at #6 in top internet sales, signifying Torien’s ability to keep the band alive for over 20 years and surviving throughout the test of time. The group continues to tour in support of 10c Billionaire, and will appear on many of the top music festivals in America during 2010.

BulletBoys: Elefante’

In 2015, Marq Torien released Elefante’ on Cleopatra/Universal Records, produced and engineered by Ryan Greene, Marq Torien & Matt Thorne, In it’s first week of sales, then new record landed onto the CMJ charts at #9. This stellar album is an expertly assembled eleven song collection of Hard Rock and Heavy Metal, each track, beginning with the relentlessly pummeling “Rollover” and the acoustic-tinged quasi-Power Ballad “Symphony”, immediately commands the rapt and undivided attention of all parties involved. The group drives home each key focal point via a seamless blend of soaring vocals, blistering fretwork and imaginatively punishing rhythms. Amid various an array of numbing inanities. The initial excursions are as memorable as they are thoroughly satisfying. With Torien’s now-trademark über-slick delivery and a seemingly renewed sense of purpose paving the way, the group finds itself creating relevant, thought-provoking music in an era when so many of their remaining contemporaries find themselves completely reliant on the County and State Fair circuits for survival. This is quite possibly as good as it gets and trust me, you will not be disappointed.

BulletBoys: Greatest Hits

* “Hard as A Rock” from the BulletBoys album
* “Kissin’ Kitty” from the BulletBoys album
* “F#9” from the BulletBoys album
* “Smooth Up in Ya” from the BulletBoys album
* “For the Love of Money” from the BulletBoys album
* “Freakshow” from the Freakshow album
* “Thrill That Kills” from the Freakshow album
* “Talk to Your Daughter” from the Freakshow album
* “Hang on St. Christopher” from the Freakshow album
* “Slow and Easy” from the Za-Za album